The Boondocks Season 1 and 2 Wrap-Up

I enjoyed watching this series because it made me laugh, cry (from the laughter), and think about the issues McGruder presented in each episode and how it affect my family, friends, my community and me. I did not realize that there were 30 episodes when the two seasons were combined. The good thing about that was my word count for the blog was not as much for others with blogs with fewer episodes as me.

Aaron McGruder

On the first third of the blog entries, I had saved all my blogs on word to a USB flash drive as Professor Dunphy advised. As the time for the blog due date approached I had decided to post them once I edited them one last time the Wednesday before the blogs were due. When I got home from school I was shocked and frustrated that, I had lost my USB flash drive. It was 11pm and I was up writing my blogs over from what I could remember of the blogs I first typed up. I did not finish typing them until 4 am and once I finished editing and adding pictures it was 5 in morning. Next time around I e-mailed all my blogs to myself to have a plan B just in case I had this problem again.

Regina King

Now that I have sheared my experience with writing this blog I found that it was actually fun to do even though this was my first time doing a blog. I enjoyed the first two seasons of The Boondocks and while I began watching the episodes the reruns of the third season began to air again. I watched a few but when I got to the episode that explained why Uncle Ruckus believed he was white and his hatred for black people I stopped following the season because I did not want it to effect my writing for my blog.

John Witherspoon

I think the most challenging part of this series was that McGruder wanted to put forth a cartoon satire series unlike that of Comedy Central’s South Park without seeming cliché or unrealistic in the eyes of his black audience. The Boondocks cartoon series only reminded me of South Park because of the vulgar things that are said on each show other than that the distinction is clear that they are conveying two different worlds in my opinion.

Gary Anthony Williams

The criticism I think only sparked people in media, the hip-hop community and other critics to watch the show. The fact that the series is on the Adult Swim programming block on the Cartoon Network is great for me because I think a lot of the people in my generation who grew up watching Nickelodeon and the Cartoon Network enjoy the programs these networks offer. I think some of the best 90’s cartoons come form these two networks alone and my viewer ship will never end unless the networks end. When I discovered Adult Swim, it was when I was still in junior high and I stayed up late to watch the anime cartoons that I never saw before and I was fascinated. In the day, I would watch my other shows on either network but Adult Swim was my new addiction but I digress.

Cedric Yaarborough

I think the least challenging thing McGruder did for the show was convey a message to his audience he wanted them to understand about black American culture. Many of the episodes focus on issues of social change within the black community that I thing McGruder made purposely to elicit change in his own people. The episode that opened my eyes to that idea was The Return of the King where Dr. King comes out of a coma to tell the people that they are a danger to themselves if they do not change their attitudes and ways of the black culture and risk losing it by not respecting it and themselves by becoming educated and striving to make change like their ancestors. I think it was not a hard for McGruder to portray this element of satire in his series because it is a problem that the black community has always been struggling with and are still trying to change.

Jill Talley

There were some reviews of the series that said that it was ignorant, that it was racist and that it was violent and I agree. These are aspects that McGruder depicts in his series only to elicit response from his audience and critics. I mean if reviewers and critics said nothing of the series then they would have not thought of it as significant enough to write about. There were other reviews of the series that I related to because instead of criticizing McGruder for his body of work they began to set forth their own campaign of getting their message across on a certain issue in the series. I appreciate that people are not trying to censor McGruder for telling it how it really is in our society.

Gabby Soleil

I think McGruder’s choice to do the episodes depicting rappers in the hip-hop community being gay was brave. I assumed that this would affect the willingness of other rappers to do voice parts for the series however; the hip-hop community seemed to embrace McGruder’s artistic view of their community. All the black community issues have influenced this series while the show has influenced the black community to make changes in the behavior like eating soul food and being ignorant to political and societal issues. I defiantly think that McGruder and his staff of writer want The Boondocks audience to be aware of the issues and try to make a change in our generation.

Carl Jones

During the first season the different episodes directed by Anthony Bell, Joe Horne, Seung Eun Kim, Kalvin Lee and Sean Song. Aaron McGruder the creator, Rodney Barnes, and Yamara Taylor, wrote episodes. The second season there was a change in directors where Seung Eun Kim and Dan Fausett directed this season. The writers were the same with the addition of two new writers Andre Brooks and Jason Van Veen. I was not interested in the creative team but thought I give them a paragraph since they help create the series along with McGruder and are an important element to the success of the show. I definitely think the show is a success mainly because of the popularity of the characters and the fact that Adult Swim has already aired the third season of the series.

Ed Asner

Throughout season one and two, I have come to understand Granddad, Huey and Riley’s characteristics. The oldest Huey is a self-proclaimed revolutionary whose duty it is to inform everyone around him of the government’s lies. He also is most rational one in the Freeman family who tries to do well but ends up letting Granddad and Riley fall on their butts when their schemes or plans backfire. Riley is the youngest and proclaims to a gangster who likes the idea of committing crimes and surrounding himself with people who share the same views. He is an excellent artist and with some guidance would be successful but he is money hungry and committed to the gangster lifestyle so who knows if he will use his graffiti skills to do something positive. Granddad is the guardian of two young boys, he has served his nation as a fighter pilot, he has served his community by participating in the civil rights movement and he is honoring his family by taking care of Huey and Riley. Granddad is an elderly man looking for love but in all the wrong places. A man of his age should be living off his retirement and planning his death not taking care of children. This makes Granddad seem very noble and I think he is grateful that they are there so he is not all alone.

Charlie Murphy

I noticed the first season when Ed III and Gin Rummy were introduced that McGruder seemed to slip in elements of Pulp Fiction being that the voice of Rummy was Samuel L. Jackson the co-star of the movie. This quote from the movie is said by Rummy in Let’s Nab Oprah episode when Riley seems to be confused by what Rummy says about the absence of evidence is not the evidence of absence. Now Riley and Rummy begin the quote:

Samuel L. Jackson

Riley: What?

Rummy: What country are you from?

Riley: What? What? Wh – ?

Rummy: “What” ain’t no country I’ve ever heard of. They speak English in What?

Riley: What?

Rummy: English, motherfucker, do you speak it?

Riley: Yeah!

Rummy: Then you know what I’m sayin’!

Riley: Yeah!

Rummy: The absence of evidence is not the evidence of absence!

Riley: What?

Rummy: Say ‘what’ again. Say ‘what’ again, I dare you, I double dare you motherfucker, say what one more Goddamn time!

Jim Meskimen

The ending of the second season made me want to see what else could McGruder come up with but it did not tie up enough loose ends for me. I still would like to know what happen to Huey and Riley’s parents, will Granddad find love, will McGruder develop friends for Huey and Riley like the one they had in the comic strip? There are many questions that season two left me but thank you to Adult Swim for picking the series up for another season so that I can find out if McGruder answers any of my inquires. I try to think about which episode is my favorite and to be honest I watched the first season nearly a hundred times because that was the only cartoon DVD that my boyfriend had that I would watch without going insane and really enjoyed. I love The Boondocks and I think it is my favorite cartoon series so I cannot pick just one episode.

Kym Whitely

The theme song is etched in my brain and I caught myself singing when I woke up for school one day. The song is called “Judo Flip” by rapper Asheru who one a Peabody Award for Journalism in reference to The Return of the King episode where Dr. King voiced by actor Kevin Michael Richardson recites lyrics from his song “Nigga.”

Kevin Michael Richaedson

Martin Luther King Jr.: Will you ignorant niggers PLEASE shut the hell UP? Is this it? THIS is what I got all those ass-whoopings for? I had a dream once but it was a dream that little black girls and black boys would one day drink from the river of prosperity freed from the thirst of oppression. But lo and behold, some four decades later, what have I found, but a bunch of trifling, shiftless, good for nothing niggers! And I know some of you don’t want to hear me say that word! It’s the ugliest word in the English language! But that’s what I see now! NIGGERS! And you don’t want to be a nigger! Because niggers are living contradictions! Niggers are full of unfulfilled ambitions! Niggers wax and wane! Niggers love to complain! Niggers love to hear themselves talk but hate to explain! Niggers love being another man’s judge and jury! Niggers procrastinate until it’s time to worry! Niggers LOVE to be late! Niggers HATE to hurry! Black Entertainment Television is the WORST thing I’ve ever seen in my life! Usher, Michael Jackson is not a genre of music! And don’t get me started on Soul Plane! I’ve seen what’s around the corner! I’ve seen what’s over the horizon! And I PROMISE you, you niggers have nothing to celebrate! I know I won’t get there with you, because I’m going to Canada!

Affion Crockett

I also like the songs that were made throughout the seasons like “Booty Butt Cheeks”, “Homie’s Ova Hoes” and “Thugin’ Luv” because they highlight the most memorable part of a song, the chorus, and they make me laugh when I think about the episode behind the song. I did not have to convince any of my family or friends to watch this show. My mom and older sister watched it all the time and wanted to see the DVD before I returned it to Netflix. I watched it with my best friend who is a film major at Brooklyn College and she would come to my house or ask me to come over so she could watch The Boondocks and she does not like comedies or satire. I think by doing the assignment I have found new viewers who appreciate the series as much as I do

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. professor Dunphy
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 20:04:40

    Shahadaah,

    This is an excellent wrap-up post! Lots of discussion, lots of good points… yet some spelling mistakes!! I feel like letting that go because this was so well done.

    I enjoyed this — can’t wait to read some others…

    Professor Dunphy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

